CHARLOTTE, North Carolina — WRAL was one of the big winners of the annual Radio Television Digital News Association of the Carolinas awards on Saturday, taking first place for Outstanding News Operation and News Director of the Year.

WRAL won first place in the following categories:

Exceptional Information Operation

News Director of the Year: Rick Gall

TV News Host of the Year: Lena Tillett

Multimedia Journalist of the Year for Television News: Bryan Mims

TV News Photographer of the Year: Lauren DesArmo

Television News Producer of the Year: Stephanie Beck

TV Journalist of the Year: Joe Fisher

– Second place: Amanda Lamb

Television Special Projects Producer: Stephanie Beck

TV Weather Presenter of the Year: Mike Maze

Podcast (Long): Amanda Lamb, Anita Normanly and Shelly Leslie for follow the truth

WRAL also won second place in these categories:

Special Report: Anchor/Reporter Lena Tillett, Producer Jeremy Spearman and Director Rhett Aycock for Roe V. Wade Overthrown: Impact on North Carolina

Sports Special: Battle of the Blues Final Four Showdown

Using technology: meteorologist Elizabeth Gardner, producer Aimee Wilmoth and designer Shan Zhong for augmented reality tornadoes and hurricanes

TV News Investigative Journalist of the Year: Cullen Browder