TORONTO, November 10, 2022 /CNW/ – The Canadian Ethnic Media Association is proud to announce the winners of its 44th Annual Excellence in Journalism Awards. In his webcast, Thursday, November 17, 2022at 7 p.m. ETco-organizers of the CEMA awards, Karen Johnson and Pauline Chan, will reveal the winners of the nine competitive categories, as well as the winner of this year’s prestigious Sierhey Khmara Ziniak Lifetime Achievement Award. Visit: to meet the winners!

CEMA requested from Canada ethnic media to showcase their best work, and they responded with energy! The independent panel of multilingual media experts reviewed all submissions before making tough decisions. The results present a true national showcase of from Canada best ethnocultural journalism coast to coast – Vancouver at Halifax.

The winners of the Canadian Ethnic Media Association’s 2022 Journalism Excellence Awards, by category, are as follows:

PODCAST: Aeron Dellosaof The Cedars, Quebechost/director for “The Life of the Immigrant”.

RADIO: Franklin Rodriguezhost/director for “The Spanglish Hour”CHIN Radio, Ottawa.

ONLINE ARTICLEES: Byron Armstrongfreelance journalist, Ricochet Media, Torontofor “Police apologies are meaningless when they Actively invest in monitoring”.

TO PRINT: Sylvia D. HamiltonHalifax Filmmaker/Writer for the article “Think of me” from Canada History Review.

TELEVISION: Ada Lukexecutive producer of Fairchild Television, Vancouverfor “Magazine 26 – The Legacy of the Wing Sang Building”.

VIDEO SERIES: Raul DudnicIndependent Producer, Television, for “Misinformation in the Canadian Romanian Community”.

DOCUMENTARY: Adelina Suvagau, Vancouverproducer for “Married Madeleine in conversation with Lilian Broca”.

INNOVATION: Taya Rtichesevaof Winnipeggeneral manager of U Multiculturala digital media channel serving diverse communities in five provinces.

COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT: Maxine Fischbeingrassroots reporter for Alberta Jewish News, Edmontonfor “Here to say Exposure”.

The Canadian Ethnic Media Association and its prestigious Journalism Excellence Awards are the brainchild of Founder and CEO Sierhey Khmara Ziniak. His legacy lives on posthumously, as evidenced by the many media professionals whose work bears witness to CEMA’s ongoing efforts to defend from Canada ethnic media, and to fight for their recognition as important voices for Canada.

Each year, OCCO recognizes the work of such a person by awarding him the Sierhey Khmara Ziniak Award. This final prize for 2022 will be awarded to Aldo Di FelicePresident of TLN Media Group, for his unwavering dedication to multiculturalism and its positive expression through the media.

The CEMA is happy to welcome back Ontario Creates as a sponsor of its annual journalism excellence awards. Ontario Creates is an agency of the Government of Ontario that facilitates economic development, investment and collaboration in from Ontario creative industries. For more information visit:

Following the third annual webcast presentation of its Excellence in Journalism Awards, the November 17, 2022; CEMA will once again benefit from the support of several television partners who will broadcast the 44e Awards ceremony, in its entirety, on broadcast dates yet to be confirmed. Participating broadcasters are TLN Media Group, OMNI Television, Asian Television Network, Ethnic Channels Group and Stingray Television (CKSA & CITL) from Lloydminster, Saskatchewan.

Visit the CEMA website to learn more about membership in a national organization that protects the rights of ethnic communicators; advocates for them to be recognized as legitimate and important representatives of the media; and works tirelessly to promote the importance of ethnic media in Canada.

SOURCE Canadian Ethnic Media Association


Show original content: